The Distinguished Fellows of the Texas Art Education Association

Established in 1993

In 1993, the Texas Art Education Association established a category of membership entitled THE DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS OF THE TEXAS ART EDUCATION ASSOCIATION, beginning with 15 Charter Members.  Sadly, only two of those original charter Members are still with us today. However, their contributions live on within this association and beyond through many practices, scholarships, and leadership. Nominations for consideration are generated only through the Distinguished Fellows at their annual business meeting.

TAEA confers this prestigious title DISTINGUISHED FELLOW on members who have made significant, long-term, and distinguished contributions to the work of the association and to the advancement of the art education profession. One purpose of the establishment of this category of membership in TAEA was to capture the "Intellectual, Artistic, and Leadership Capital" possessed by these individuals and maintain their scholarly contributions as the elders, or Wisdom Keepers of this tribe. This is truly a lifetime achievement award and TAEA's Hall of Honor.

As an advisory group of committed professional art educators for long-term TAEA sustained development, financial growth, and policy issues that relate to the history and continuity of the goals of TAEA;  the Distinguished Fellows have been active in the development of many programs such as VASE, the Leadership Conferences, the newly formed TAEA Foundation, the Distinguished Fellows Spring Retreat,  the Distinguished Fellows, Janet Fox Memorial Legacy Library, where countless art books and resources have been donated by members to raise scholarship funds for teachers, and the TAEA Outreach Program that brings free, quality professional development to small and rural districts. The Distinguished Fellows contributions rest in the foundation of this organization and they stand as the giants on who's shoulders this membership stands on today.

Nomination alone is an incredible honor, induction represents the very pinnacle of recognition by your professional colleagues. Distinguished Fellows are the Hall of Honor Members of the Texas Art Education Association.

Sort Alphabetically

Year Name
Charter Julia Beckham (Deceased)
Charter James Clarke
Charter Lourena Cook (Deceased)
Charter D. Jack Davis
Charter Janet Fox (Deceased)
Charter Bill D. Francis (Deceased)
Charter Horathel Hall-Jones (Deceased)
Charter Amy Freeman Lee (Deceased)
Charter Bill Lockhart (Deceased)
Charter Phyllis Miller (Deceased)
Charter Marvin Platten (Deceased)
Charter Jeanne Rollins (Deceased)
Charter Mary Pearl Temple (Deceased)
Charter Alice Webb (Deceased)
Charter Ida Nell Williams (Deceased)
1995 Rebecca Felts (Deceased)
1995 Pauline Gawlik-Piper (Deceased)
1995 Nancy Miller
1995 Trois Taylor
1996 Dale Battle (Deceased)
1996 Cindy Broderick
1997 Patricia Jones
1997 Marvin Moon (Deceased)
1998 Sara Chapman
1999 Daphna Lilienstern (Deceased)
2003 Keith Arney
2003 Kay Savay
2004 Martha Kiel
2004 Emma Lea Mayton
2004 Robert W Parker (Deceased)
2004 Katherine Reid
2005 Georgia Blaydes
2005 Walter Holland
2005 Gloria McCoy
2006 Linda Eshom
2006 Cheryl Evans
2006 Janice Wiggins
2006 Elizabeth Willett
2007 Juan Garcia (Deceased)
2007 Kristen Marstaller
2008 Dr. Tina Farrell
2008 Susan Mayer (Deceased)
2009 Jennifer Janak
2009 Olive Jensen-Theisen (Deceased)
2009 Rhonda Sherrill
2010 Joey Doyle (Deceased)
2010 Sarah Sanders
2010 Fred Woody
2011 Suzanne Greene
2011 Donna Rae Harris (Deceased)
2011 Roberta Sajda
2013 Mel Basham
2013 Linda Fleetwood
2013 Kathy Hendrick
2015 Walter Scott Benson, III
2015 Joe Culotta
2015 Samantha Melvin
2016 Donna Andrich
2016 Jami Bevans
2016 Paul Bolin
2016 Ricia Kerber
2016 Tim Lowke
2019 Jackie Brewer
2019 Dr. Kari Murphy
2019 Shannon Raygoza
2019 Nancy Walkup
2021 Nicole Brisco
2021 Karri Clark
2021 Stacia Gower
2021 Mary Hierholzer
2021 Michaelann Kelley
2021 Betsy Murphy
2021 Sherry White
2022 Pam Arnold
2022 Christina Bain
2022 Joan Finn
2022 Christine Grafe
2022 Sandra Newton
2022 Victor Raygoza
2023 Gretchen Bell-Young
2023 Madelene Buzan
2023 Dr. Sharon Chumley
2023 Maureen Doebbler
2023 Steve Franklin
2023 Jonnie Gilliam