TAEA Districts of Distinction

TAEA Districts of Distinction

Please view a short video showcasing our 2022 awardees for the TAEA District of Distinction.

2023 Districts of Distinction

I am excited to announce the 2022-2023 District of Distinction honorees. These Visual Art programs submitted all materials to meet the criteria of the comprehensive 14-point rubric. Over 1,200 districts and learning institutions in Texas were eligible to apply for this prestigious Texas Art Education Association Visual Art Award, 69 districts met the high standards and will receive this outstanding honor indicating their visual art program is in the top 5.5% of Visual Art programs in the state.

As the sponsor of this award, the Visual Art Administrators of Texas, a division of TAEA, recognizes districts and learning institutions exhibiting outstanding leadership in promoting the arts in their district and community. We recognize Visual Art programs that have active TAEA members, promote TAEA art events, and actively participate in their community. This year we celebrate 16 Visual Art programs that earned this accomplishment for the fifth consecutive year, 13 programs that scored a four-peat, 10 programs with a three-peat, 12 programs with a two-peat, and we welcome 18 (wow!) first year awardees.

We congratulate our honorees and applaud their work advocating for creative learning opportunities that encourage individual growth and connect students to their peers, school, and society at large. We look forward to honoring them at the TAEA Fall Conference.

Sandra Newton
Visual Art Administrators of Texas Division Chair

Click here to view the 2023 photo gallery.

TAEA Districts of Distinction

5 Year Awardees

Aldine ISD
Alief ISD
Austin ISD
Comal ISD
Frisco ISD
Humble ISD
Klein ISD
Lake Dallas ISD
Lubbock ISD
Manor ISD
Round Rock ISD
Spring ISD
Texas City ISD
Tyler ISD
Victoria ISD
Waco ISD

4 Year Awardees

Bryan ISD
Channelview ISD
Del Valle ISD
Edinburg CISD
Georgetown ISD
Huffman ISD
Hutto ISD
McAllen ISD
Northside ISD
Pasadena ISD
Plano ISD
Prosper ISD
Redwater ISD

3 Year Awardees

Abilene ISD
College Station ISD
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
Dallas ISD
Ector County ISD
Fort Worth ISD
Katy ISD
Richardson ISD
Socorro ISD
Spring Branch ISD

2 Year Awardees

Burleson ISD
Chisum ISD
Clear Creek ISD
Conroe ISD
Deer Park ISD
Duncanville ISD
Glen Rose ISD
Mansfield ISD
New Caney ISD
Pine Tree ISD
St. Joseph Catholic School
Texarkana ISD

New Awardees

Alvin ISD
Arlington ISD
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
Castleberry ISD
Cedar Hill ISD
Ft Worth AFA (Charter)
Galena Park ISD
Ganado ISD
Hallsville ISD
Irving ISD
Kilgore ISD
Killeen ISD
Lake Travis ISD
Little Elm ISD
Magnolia ISD
Rockwall ISD
Roma ISD

Previous Awardees

Celebrating Excellence in the Visual Arts

What is a District of Distinction?

District of Distinction is an annual recognition program created by Texas Art Education Association and run by the Visual Art Administrators of Texas (Administration and Supervision division of TAEA) to honor school districts that are leading the way in the visual arts. The Visual Art Administrators of Texas would like to recognize districts with outstanding leadership (be that formal or informal) in promoting the arts in their district and community. We are looking to recognize districts that are active participating members in TAEA and beyond. The rubric is differentiated by number of students in the district and has exemptions in regions that do not have sponsored events. This allows for each district submitting to meet 12 out of the 14 criteria (excluding exemptions). A district may receive the award each academic year.

If your school district is engaged in advocating for the visual arts, your district could be a TAEA District of Distinction.

When will we announce the 2024 winners?

Winners will be announced in August of 2024 and recognized at the TAEA Conference 2024. (Rubric will be based on events/activities from August 2023 – June 2024.)

How does TAEA promote honorees?

Districts of Distinction honorees will:

  • Be identified on the association's website
  • Receive a District of Distinction plaque along with a letter of commendation from the association
  • Receive a press release template to promote their recognition to local media

Who will choose the winners?

A committee of TAEA members and administrators from across Texas will be assembled by the Visual Art Administrators of Texas Chair and Chair Elect. The committee will check the criteria and mark whether the district submission meets the qualifications to receive the designation of a TAEA District of Distinction. All districts fulfilling the rigorous criteria will be awarded the title of a District of Distinction.

What is my responsibility as a District of Distinction?

The winning district(s), as part of the award, will be asked to submit their district logo and a celebration photo to feature on the TAEA website and at the fall conference. In addition, winning districts will be asked to share a few words about the impact of earning the District of Distinction on programs and school district, attend the award ceremony at the fall TAEA conference, and attend at the Visual Art Administrator of Texas meeting at the fall TAEA conference.

If you are interested in participating in the TAEA District of Distinction program for the 2023-2024 academic year please complete the folder request form, and a Google submission folder will be shared with your District Representative. Submission deadline is June 14, 2024.

Criteria / Rubric

Example 2023-2024 District of Distinction Folder (Google Drive) — You must have your folder set up like this example. If you have already completed your folder, PLEASE go back and check that it is organized and numbered like this example folder.

2023-2024 Criteria / Rubric (PDF) (Revised 08/18/2023)

2023-2024 Rubric Example Slide Show (PDF)

Please email questions related to submitting your documentation for the 2023-2024 academic year to or .