2022 TAEA Districts of Distinction

TAEA Districts of Distinction

I am excited to announce our 2021-2022 District of Distinction honorees. These districts submitted all materials to meet the criteria of the comprehensive 14-point rubric. Over 1,200 districts in the state were eligible to apply for this prestigious Texas Art Education Association Visual Art Award 59 districts met the high standards and will receive this outstanding honor indicating their visual art program is in the top 5% of districts in the state.

As the sponsor of this award, the TAEA Administration and Supervision Division recognizes districts exhibiting outstanding leadership in promoting the arts in their district and community. We want districts that are active TAEA members, promote TAEA art events, and actively participate in their community. This year we celebrate 16 districts that achieved this accomplishment for the fourth year in a row, 13 districts that scored a three-peat, 12 districts with a two-peat, and we welcome 18 (wow!) first year awardees.

I congratulate our honorees and applaud their work advocating for creative learning opportunities that encourage individual growth and connect students to their peers, school and society at large. We look forward to honoring them at our Fall Conference General Session on Friday, November 11 at 2:00 PM.

Sandra Newton
Administration and Supervision Division Chair

TAEA Districts of Distinction

4 Year Awardees

Aldine ISD
Alief ISD
Austin ISD
Comal ISD
Frisco ISD
Humble ISD
Klein ISD
Lake Dallas ISD
Lubbock ISD
Manor ISD
Round Rock ISD
Spring ISD
Texas City ISD
Tyler ISD
Victoria ISD
Waco ISD

3 Year Awardees

Bryan ISD
Channelview ISD
College Station ISD
Del Valle ISD
Edinburg Consolidated ISD
Georgetown ISD
Huffman ISD
McAllen ISD
Northside ISD
Pasadena ISD
Plano ISD
Prosper ISD
Redwater ISD

2 Year Awardees

Abilene ISD
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
Dallas ISD
Ector County ISD
Ft. Worth ISD
Katy ISD
Navasota ISD
Northwest ISD
Pegasus School
Richardson ISD
Socorro ISD
Spring Branch ISD

New Awardees

Burleson ISD
Chisum ISD
Clear Creek ISD
Conroe ISD
Crosby ISD
Deer Park ISD
Duncanville ISD
Glen Rose ISD
Gunter ISD
KIPP Houston
Mansfield ISD
Marlin ISD
New Caney ISD
Pine Tree ISD
Ralls ISD
Seguin ISD
St. Joseph Catholic School
Texarkana ISD

Please view a short video showcasing our 2021 awardees for the TAEA District of Distinction.