TAEA Memorial Scholarship

Do you have a student or know a pre-service college student who is pursuing studies in art education? We may have a scholarship for them! Read below to find out more about the 2018 TAEA Scholarship Program administered and promoted by the Texas Art Education Foundation. All scholarship applications are due June 1, 2018 to the TAEA Executive Secretary.

The Texas Art Education Association (TAEA) has an established Memorial Scholarship Fund. It awarded its first scholarship of $500 in May 2003. For those seeking this scholarship, priority will be given to a high school senior who intends to enroll in an art teacher certification degree program and is sponsored by a TAEA member. Any university or college art education student who is a member of TAEA may apply. Active members of TAEA who are or plan to enroll in a graduate program may also apply.

All applications must include a permanent home address and phone number and the TAEA number of the sponsoring art teacher or TAEA member applicant. All application materials must be post marked no later than June 1. Send to:

TAEA Memorial Scholarship
14070 Proton Road
Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75244


If you are interested in giving to the Memorial Scholarship Fund, click the Donate Now button below.



  • Raquel Majeno
  • Dominique Yvonne Yon
  • Kaylee Page
  • Jada Nava
  • Andre Cedillo
  • Analissa Garcia
  • Ana Miriam Maldonado
  • Ashley Breann McClellan
  • Belem Lopez
  • Samantha Mejia
  • Sydney Peet


  • Sarah Meyer (Tomball)
  • Keane Pakdimounivong (Keller)
  • Jordan Weaver (Buda)
  • Jaelyn Kotzur (La Vernia)
  • Avery Patton (Houston)


  • Joshua Rodriguez (Channelview)
  • Sydney Marie Peel (Colleyville)
  • Christina Willis (Houston)
  • Christiana Puente (San Antonio)


  • Whitney O'Brien (Sheperd)
  • Brianna Rebosio (Keller)
  • Claissa Saucedo (San Antonio)
  • Casey Simmons (Huntsville)


  • Kimberly Black
  • Diane Gregory


  • LaStarsha McGarity
  • Taylor Jennings


  • Laurel Goetz


  • Natalie Lambert
  • Shana Rousch


  • Bob Ratliff (Austin)


There were several highly qualified applicants for the two scholarships. The selection committee is pleased to announce that Bob Ratliff (a senior at Crockett High School in the Austin ISD) and Keersten Brown (a freshman art education major at Texas Tech University) are this year's recipients. Each will receive $500 from the TAEA Memorial Scholarship Fund upon verification of their enrollment this fall. Bob plans to attend Texas State University in San Marcos. Keersten received a 2003 Memorial Scholarship as a senior at Birdville High School and is a student member of TAEA.


The first grant recipient was Ms. Keersten Elizabeth Brown, Birdville High School, N. Richland Hills, TX. She is planning to study in Texas Tech's art teacher certification program (Visual Art Studies major).


The Memorial Scholarship Fund Plaque is located at the TAEA Headquarters, 14070 Proton, Dallas, TX 75244. It travels each year to the TAEA Conference.

Names on the Memorial Scholarship Fund Plaque

  • Cynde Riddle
  • Christina Lynn Rich
  • Bill Francis
  • Mel Rutt
  • Isabella Arney
  • Al Rodriguez
  • Dunson King
  • Micah Green
  • Lina Maria Parker
  • Sam Gawlik
  • Maxine Markham
  • Robin Woods
  • Virginia Grace Pullig
  • Willie Zuniga
  • Robin Jones
  • Dr. Amy Freeman Lee
  • Robin Woods
  • Millie Stephens
  • JoAnn Craig
  • Kenny Allen
  • Jerome Goodrich
  • Janet Fox
  • Dale Battle
  • Bill Lockhart
  • Philip Tomkinson
  • Dr. Kara Hallmark

Any donations $50 or above will have the name of the person to whom the gift honors engraved on a brass plate and attached to a permanent plaque.

The purpose of the TAEA is to expand and advance the standard of art education and the teaching practices of art throughout the state of Texas, to promote art as an integral part of the curriculum, and to represent the art educators of Texas.

The Texas Art Education Association is a 501(c)(3) organization and the full amount of your gift should be deductible for federal income tax purposes as allowed by law. Again, many thanks!

For further information please contact Sara Chapman at or 281-395-2339.